Skip to main content
Pie in the Sky [electronic resource]
Pie in the Sky [electronic resource]
Lai, Remy2019
Audiobooks
Find it!
Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake ... heartwarming and rib-tickling." -Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible EmmieWhen Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.Remy Lai's hilarious, moving illustrated middle-grade debut, with its pitch-perfect writing, makes for a scrumptious audiobook adaptation. It will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular 'Wimpy Kid' series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." --School Library Journal, starred review
Author:
Imprint:
[Place of publication not identified] : Listening Library, 2019
Collation:
1 online resource (1 audio file)
ISBN:
9780593208434
Language:
English
BRN:
2975980
Find it!
0